Something went wrong.

We've been notified of this error.

Need help? Check out our Help Centre.


Have you heard someone mention “Chakra” and wondered….what in the world is a Chakra!!!??

First of all the word is pronounced Cha Kra with a rolling “R”.    

Not SHakra…  That is a mistake made by many.  

The word Chakra means Wheel of Spinning Energy

Now for a little Big Bang Theory….

Think of the Atmosphere as a Power Plant of Cosmic energy. This cosmic energy is given to every single living and non-living thing.   

As this energy comes to us as humans, it is a stream of energy much like the way your home is connected to the City Power plant by power lines, except this energy is given to us free!!!  (Yay, something in life is actually free these days!)

This energy current resides along our spine in our Chakras. 

Let’s say your Chakras are your own personal Energetic Power boxes, like the Breaker Box in your basement.  

If you look at an x-ray you won’t actually be able to see your chakras, just like you can’t actually see electricity.   

There are 7 “areas” along your spine, Chakras, and each has a function or job to do. 

The Chakras spin the energy which then leaves that area and travels through your body in Nadis. 

Nadis are basically like the wiring that is in the walls in your home. 

There are over 72,000 Nadis in your body that channel energy to every cell!  Crazy, huh?

Again, if you were cut open, you can’t see the Nadis, unlike veins, but they are there!

Back to the power boxes, the Chakras; there are 7 Chakras along your spine.

If you know what you are looking for you will be able to feel the energy from each Chakra.  

How many times have you had butterflies in your tummy when you see someone you adore?   THAT is your Heart Chakra working!!!

Each Chakra is in charge of different sections of your body and emotions.

Root (Muladhara) Color of Red, is located at the bottom of your spine. It is responsible for your legs, feet, bones, large intestine, and adrenal glands.  It controls your fight or flight response, physical survival and earthly grounding. 

Sacral (Swadhisthana) Color of Orange, is located between the base of your spine and your navel.  It is associated with your lower abdomen and all of its organs.  It represents pleasure, sexuality, procreation, and creativity!!

Solar Plexus (Manipura) Color of Yellow, is located a few inches above the navel, it is concerned with your digestive system, pancreas, adrenals, etc.  Feelings of personal power, laughter, joy, and anger transpire in its center.

Heart (Anahata) Color of Green, is located in your physical heart center.  Love, compassion, harmony and peace and unconditional love reside here.  It is also associated with your lungs, heart, arms, hands and thymus gland.

Throat (Vishudda) Color of Blue, is located in the throat and is also associated with your neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid and parathyroid glands.  It is concerned with inner and outer hearing, developing ideas, healing, transformation, and purification.

The Third Eye (Ajna) Color of Indigo, is located at the center of your forehead just slightly higher than your eyes.  It acknowledges question, perception, and knowledge, but also questions the spiritual nature of our lives.  Dreams may evolve here.  It is concerned with inner vision, intuition, and wisdom.

Crown (Sahasrara) Color of Purple, is located at the top of your head.  It is associated with the central nervous system, pituitary gland, and cerebral cortex.  Information, understanding, acceptance, and bliss along with your personal place of connection to your God and personal destiny.

There is so much more to learn, but we will continue with future talks, ideas, questions on this amazing, invisible part of our incredible selves!!!!

Using Format